Southwark Cathedral, London Bridge, London, SE1 9DA

A special evening of spoken word and music, celebrating the work of two of the great artists of the 20th century: Benjamin Britten and T.S. Eliot.

The event, held in the beautiful setting of Southwark Cathedral, represents a unique collaboration between City of London Sinfonia and Faber & Faber to mark the 90th anniversary of the publisher, with whom both Britten and Eliot were profoundly linked.

T.S. Eliot moved to England in 1914, publishing his first book of poems three years later, then joining the nascent Faber and Gwyer as a director in 1925. Four Quartets, first published in the UK by Faber in 1944, is widely considered to be his crowning achievement. Faber became an established publisher of books about music in the early 1960s, under the editorship of the writer and musicologist Donald Mitchell. After Britten wrote in a letter to Mitchell, ‘I occasionally dream of Faber & Faber – music publishers!’, Mitchell approached the Chairman, Richard de la Mare, who consulted Eliot and responded, ‘I have no idea how this can be done, but clearly we have to do it.’ Faber Music came into being in 1965, with Britten as its first composer.

The programme interweaves some of Eliot’s finest verses and Britten’s most remarkable music, with readings including Ash Wednesday and Little Gidding, and Britten's Serenade for tenor, horn and strings and Variations on a Theme of Frank Bridge.

BRITTEN Canticle V (The Death of Saint Narcissus)
ELIOT Ash Wednesday
BRITTEN Serenade for tenor, horn and strings
ELIOT Little Gidding from Four Quartets
BRITTEN Variations on a Theme of Frank Bridge

City of London Sinfonia
Alexandra Wood Director/Violin
Stephen Stirling French Horn
Joshua Ellicott Tenor
Reader to be announced

Ticket information

You can choose how you would like to experience the music:
Guaranteed seating (Nave): £28
Roaming (cushions, wandering, other seating): £20

Wheelchair user: £21 / £15; Carer/companion: free
Child (under 16): £5
CLS 5IVER (16-25yrs/students): £5 roaming tickets
[By phone only] Concessions (jobseekers/disability allowance): £21 / £15

All seating is unreserved; all bookings are subject to availability. Read our terms and conditions of sale for more information.

City of London Sinfonia presents ‘In Place and Time: Britten and TS Eliot’ in association with Faber Members and with the support of Cockayne Foundation and John Ellerman Foundation.

Faber Members

Cockayne logo     John Ellerman Foundation